Ray Ban Polarized Sunglasses vs Non Polarized

Ray Ban sunglasses are available in both a polarized and a non-polarized variety. They price are normally about $40 less expensive than their polarized counterparts, most people will immediately opt for non-polarized. I urge you to consider spending the extra , however, on a product with which you’ll be much happier. It is important to note that while a retailer may claim that they are selling you polarized lenses, you should be weary of very low prices on “polarization”. It costs a manufacturer more to produce polarized lenses than non-polarized ones, and so only makes sense that the manufacturer should charge customers more for polarized ones. I suggest that when shopping for sunglasses, sure quality take precedence over a bargain.

What Makes Polarized Lenses Different?

The main difference is this: regular, non-polarized sunglasses rely only on shaded lenses to block intense light. But glare resulting from light that is reflected off flat surfaces can get past regular shades. Polarized sunglasses, on the other hand, are specifically designed to block glare from reflected light.

“Polarized lenses reduce glare created by the sun’s reflection off horizontal planes”

Aside from their price disparity, polarized lenses differ from non-polarized lenses in one main way. Vertical “Polarizers” block transmission of horizontal light through polarized sunglass lenses. The result is that polarized lenses reduce glare created by the sun’s reflection off horizontal planes such as the hood of a car, the road, and water surfaces. The difference between the two types of lenses is quite apparent when you directly compare the two. To do so, hold both up to a sunny road or path; you’ll notice immediately that by reducing glare on the surface, the polarized lenses enable you to clearly distinguish between lines and textures.

“I’ve been noticeably more alert while driving on sunny days”

Most drivers have experienced road glare, a mirage on the road about 200 meters ahead of them that appears on sunny days. Ever since I started wearing polarized sunglasses, I’ve been noticeably more alert while driving on sunny days. The reason for my newfound attentiveness is that the sun no longer induces me to drowsiness. The sun’s glare on the hood of my car and the road ahead of me used to make me lethargic, especially when I would be driving in the direction of the sun.

While I find my polarized sunglasses to be the most beneficial when driving, I also appreciate the difference they make in my other outdoor activities. On relatively warm winter days, I choose to ski in my sunglasses rather than my ski goggles. I am not trying to look more stylish with this substitution; rather I am trying to eliminate glare from the snow. I feel more comfortable on a new ski slope when wearing polarized lenses, because I am able to discern all surfaces that I can see.

“I suggest taking your investment a step further to polarization – your eyes will surely thank you”

If you plan to spend any time outside this spring and summer, it is certainly important that you protect your eyes with sunglasses. A good pair of sunglasses will cut down on harmful UV rays, and reduce strain that the sun puts on your eyes on clear days. I suggest taking your investment a step further to polarization – your eyes will surely thank you.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

